Erotica Cover Watch

Why only women on the covers of erotic books?

Erotica Cover Watch: Temptations, ed. Miranda Forbes

with 8 comments

Erotica Cover Watch: Temptations, ed. Miranda Forbes, pub. Xcite Books

temptations3temptations2

Dear All,

Having a lovely wank holiday. These men are The weather is seriously fucking hot. Been doing lots of sightseeing. Violet Blue Someone said our argument hotel was very 1970s but we think maybe her sunshades are too strong because as you can see, it’s excitingly fresh and modern around here. We’re loving all the cock …
temptations1
tails. Luckily for us, they are called names like ‘Three’, ‘Two’ and ‘One’ so we don’t have to struggle with the usual stuff like ‘Screaming Multiple Outrage’ and ‘God Bollocks It’s Another Naked Babe on a Book for Women’!

Our biggest problem is deciding which one we like best! We’ve done lots of taste tests and I think ‘Three’ is my favourite. It reminds me of the many Cowboy Cocktails I’ve sampled. Last night when I asked Mat for her favourite, she couldn’t actually speak! I think she’d had a bit too much!!!

Hope you are all well and aren’t missing us too much!

Lots of love,

Kristina and Mat xxx

***

The Temptations series will be launched in November in the UK, each book costing only £2.99. Xcite say ‘The cover designs break with tradition but reflect a recent Xcite customers poll which revealed that 43% wanted to see a male on the cover, 30% a female and 27% a couple. The Temptations series deliver four mixed-theme erotic stories primarily aimed at female readers which feature a semi-naked man on each cover.’

And why did Xcite initially question the predominance of female models on erotica covers? Because they read our blog and they listened, giving Erotica Cover Watch its first glorious victory earlier in the year! It’s wonderful to see Xcite are continuing to feature hot guys on their covers. I truly love these images! And wonderful, too, to have a publisher who takes note and responds so positively instead of, ah, you know … not.

Written by Kristina Lloyd

September 17, 2009 at 6:48 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love these covers – and am also unsure which I prefer. Can I have a pick and mix?

    *gets her pre-order in at Amazon*

    P.S. Xcite – thank you for breaking with the norm!

    Girl with a one track mind

    September 17, 2009 at 10:26 am

  2. I like them all, but admittedly can’t stop looking at Temptations 3. Tres hot. I’m a abs gal.😉

    Cora Zane

    September 17, 2009 at 1:56 pm

  3. Hah, Vindication!

    I agree that 3 is the hottest cover, although 1 and 2 are both charming as well.

    Hmmm… Hope the writing is as good as the cover. I bought ‘Satisfaction 2’ on the strength of it’s cover and was sadly dissapointed – most of the stories lacked much description of hot men and their man-parts and were much more focused on the ladies.

    Ghost_of_Freud

    September 17, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  4. Um the naval looks disturbingly large to me on Temptations 3 and kind of grosses me out sorry. I think 2 is the hottest!

    Lisa

    September 17, 2009 at 9:34 pm

  5. Oh wow! All of those are full of win.

    And can I just say how thrilled I am with all the wonderful news I’ve been hearing about Xcite lately? These lovely covers are like icing on the cake, baby!
    🙂

    Wintersinger

    September 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm

  6. I think all three are the same guy, which means if one were to buy all three books, one could claim to be in a relationship with him. Oh boy.

    Madeline Moore

    September 18, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  7. Cool news. Hooray for you! Wonder if the new editor at Xcite will have any effect on the covers, lol…

    Janine Ashbless

    September 18, 2009 at 5:54 pm

  8. I’ve spent all day pouring through digital illustration magazines, which are naturally full of pics of naked and half-naked babes. Seeing these is a verra nice change of pace. Thank you for providing the **visual** stimulation I needed today.

    Helen E. H. Madden

    September 22, 2009 at 1:23 am


Leave a Reply

